Sparrow at Heart


4 Comments

The Venue

Some time ago, I mentioned things.  Things like a wedding expo and finding a wedding venue.  Well, we found our wedding venue!

Earlier this month, Kobus and I arranged to view more properties than person should be allowed to view.  The Monday we travelled to the capital of wedding venues in Joburg:  Muldersdrift.  The Tuesday we stayed closer to Pretoria traveling to the Cullinan, Bronkhorstspruit and Dinokeng areas in search of the perfect venue!

In total we have viewed 18 properties.  (Poor man)   After viewing property number  16 we realised we had secretly made up our minds.  Kobus and I were viewing property after property, comparing all the features and  always returning to the same property!

It was only when I returned to work and googled the property, only looking for photographers’ pictures of our venue that I stumbled upon this:  Angel’s Ranking of Venues!  Furthermore I was pretty excited to see Angel was just as enthusiastic about our venue as we were!

What we like about our venue:

  • Beautiful lush and green gardens for our garden wedding
  • Their “stoep” is the perfect back-up plan should it rain
  • (Which it shouldn’t as we are getting married in August)
  • The reception hall speaks volumes – so much character and perfect for our theme
  • Under-floor heating (should I say more)
  • Two fireplaces in the hall both for ambience and warmth
  • There will be mini bomas for the smokers outside
  • The venue has proper chairs – the thought of garden chairs with chair covers isn’t very appealing!
  • The vintage car we can use for photos
  • Many nooks and crannies for beautiful flowers.
  • In house DJ that knows the property’s needs
  • A hairdresser related to a bride’s maid, around the corner from the property! 
  • Location – the property is easy to find, close to the high-way and main roads.   No guests traveling home, will have a problem with badly lit roads!
  • Kleinkaap is in the process of building guest rooms on their property for guests wanting to stay over-night.
  • Laid back elegance.  Should I say more?

In other fabulous news, they have night viewings of the property, which is calling my name!

Now all we need to do, is sign a contract and pay a deposit.

photo credit


10 Comments

things are happening:

Things are happening slightly faster than anticipated.  I wouldn’t call it a bad thing, maybe just a quick change of season:

I have been offered a position in Midrand.  The implication is that we will need to take Logan out of his current school and place him in a school closer to Kobus’ work.  Our intention was to put him in the primary school close to Kobus in 2012.

Things are happening a year early.

It was our intention to move to Pretoria East towards the end of next year, maybe even buy a property instead of renting.  Yet over the weekend our landlady advised that she wants to sell the property. 

Things are happening slightly quicker than planned.

I have been retrenched.  It has made me feel like a failure.  It has made me feel exceptionally uncertain of the future.  It has made me doubt my abilities.  The implication is that I am learning to trust in the unseen.  I am learning the meaning of faith and the act of it.

Things are happening.  Even when we don’t see it!

Kobus also sees the winds of change.  For him it is an exciting time filled with opportunity and local treasures waiting to be explored.  It is a time to reap the rewards!

Things are happening, excitement fills the air!

All in all, things are happening.  It may call for some discomfort.  It may call for a little bit of faith.  I am happy to announce a new season.  One I am excited about it, as it lays undefined in front of me.