Sparrow at Heart

What are you doing to for our marriage? #WOW-K

4 Comments

This is the question K asked me in an argument we had a couple of weeks ago.

My answer was, I am here.  I am holding on.  I am not giving up.  I believe in us.  I am fighting.

Truthfully my answer has been bothered me a bit ever since.  I know believing and being present is positive.  I know some days all you can do is hold on.  Marriage isn’t easy.  However holding on; believing and being present pretty much translates into:  I-am-being-passive.  I don’t want to just be married and work and live.

I want extraordinary.

extraordinary

Earlier in the week I went for a walk in my lunch hour, I just needed to get out of the office.  I ended at the new CUM books in Menlyn Retail Park – freshly renovated and looking pretty sparkly.  While hovering in the marriage section, a book caught my eye.  The book was called, 52 Ways to Wow your husband, grabbed my attention.  I’ve only read the intro and the first’s week’s little Wow section.  But what it really boils down to for me is, how can I wow K?

I need to remind me to treat Kobus with respect and to treasure him.

I need to remind him that I am the person he fell in love with.

I invite you to join me on my journey where I learn to understand and treasure my husband, the way God intended it to be.  I have the book hidden next to my bed,  I am reading it in secret (sort of)  and I am creating opportunities to remind him.  I will be posting weekly/ bi-weekly posts and file them in a #WOW-K folder.

Why don’t we create a generation of female who actively wow our husbands?

If you want more info regarding the book, you can find it here.

Disclaimer:  I was not asked or paid to write about the book or CUM Books, I am simply writing to enrich my life and my marriage. 

Author: Alet Swart

I am a geek with creative flair. boymama. Passionate about people + wholeness + travel + tech. Empowered by Grace.

4 thoughts on “What are you doing to for our marriage? #WOW-K

  1. I don’t know if you ever watched the movie Fireproof. They make references to the 40-day love dare. The Love Dare is actually a book that you might find interesting. I think I may have it somewhere in electronic format. Am going to look for it for you and send you a mail. It’s hard but sooooo worth it.

    • Funnily enough, we did the Love Dare, at the time K and I both did it for each other, so it ended being a bit conflicting at times – you know when you both try and do something special for the other person and it is just too much at one time.

      Thanks for the tip, I should go and look for and reread the book, a double dose of hubs love can just do me well!

  2. I love this. Well done to you for being more than present in your marriage! xxx

Leave a Reply

