Sparrow at Heart

My First Tattoo: Never Alone

7 Comments

I have wanted a tattoo for the longest time.  My biggest challenge has always been finding the perfect design for my tattoo.   Everything that I would come up with would always have a couple of element that I am not happy with.  Secretly, I think I was just pretty damn petrified and hiding behind the ‘perfect’ design was an easy excuse.

To illuminate all of that would mean, I would have to make my first tattoo something simple.  The idea really came to me in the shower one morning and as soon as I the thought came to me, I knew.  I had my mind made up and heart set on it:

The ampersand

Different kinds of Ampersand - '&' Sign

I love all the different kinds of ampersands, especially the fancy ones.  But the simple every day ‘&’ ampersand is my favourite.  It was a part of my wedding monogram, it is pretty much engraved in my heart and now on my arm.  It is slightly off centre, bold and a reminder that I am never alone.  It is always someone ‘&’ me.

After looking through loads of fonts, I decided on ‘Century’ as my font of choice.  I tested the look and feel of the font:

Tattoo - Before '&'

Test:

IMG_4237

Done, healed and loving it:

Ampersand '&' tattoo - done

Just like that I completed the first task on a very long list of 30 things before I am thirty

Author: Alet Swart

I am a geek with creative flair. boymama. Passionate about people + wholeness + travel + tech. Empowered by Grace.

7 thoughts on “My First Tattoo: Never Alone

  1. Oh I love it!
    So will you get another one?

  2. I got my 1st in July to cover some scars on both my upper arms – for the 1st time ever I cant wait for summer to wear short sleeves. And one is never enough :-)

  3. I love it!
    They really are highly addictive and once you start you just don’t want to stop!

  4. Pingback: My First Tattoo: Never Alone - blog by Alet Swart

Leave a Reply

