Sparrow at Heart

August Rush – the month, not the movie

2 Comments

August has been one heck of a rush!  Here’s a couple of things that have been keeping us busy:

Oliver started his new school on the 1st of August.  I was very concerned that he would battle to settle in, but he has been a trouper!  We greet the chickens in the morning and off we go.  The school is very Afrikaans, which was something I was worried about initially, but I soon realized that Oliver would be fine.  Just like Logan was.  Pretoria is majority Afrikaans and that is that.  Also kids are awesome at adapting to their environment.

Hello Chicken

Logan attended a karate tournament.  It was his first and he was quite nervous.  I found the tournament a little disorganized.  What bothered me most is that no one really explains to you how things work.  Am I just crazy to have expected the Sensei to pick up the microphone and say, hi folks.  There is a red flag and a blue.  This is how we make our decisions regarding who wins.

IMG_3942

Logan got first prize!!

IMG_3945

Swimming lessons started again.  Loads of fun for Logan.  Half an hour of entertaining Oliver, for me.

Oliver Smile

And all that while house training a puppy (latest addition, Roxy).  I must be honest, I cuddle, Kobus house train :)   Participating in an online social media course; not getting around to UNISA assignments and battling to get rid of a silly winter flu.

Roxy Dog

That is hectic!  How have you been?

Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

2 thoughts on “August Rush – the month, not the movie

  1. I think the afrikaans thing is a good thing – we have much better Afrikaans schools here!!

    Argh I HATE disorganised functions. I like them to tell me what is going on.

    I see you are battling with Logan and school :( Why don’t you look at Tomorrows People? Kiara is a different child there Alet! The transformation has been incredible!

  2. Yeah Logan! Well done. And truly, as LAura says, the Afrikaans schools we have in Ptown are awesome

Leave a Reply

