Sparrow at Heart

House Finding

2 Comments

Some how house hunting is never quite as exciting as it could.  Things like budget and location always have to put a damper on  ones spirits.  This time was no different.  It was a real battle between the heart and the mind.  What seems like the right decision could be reinterpreted all over again.

IMG_2340

The heart in this case was the area we wanted to live in.  The Moot is an old area filled with charm you won’t find in the east.  The houses are spacious with high ceilings and bedrooms instead of cupboards.  The streets are lined will trees, an invitation for an afternoon walk.  More than that our support system is in the Moot – our friends and along with it, memories that are waiting to be made.

The East is where the kids are being schooled.  Where I work.  Where K use to work. That is it, but this is a big deal, our kids are happy.  Of course that doesn’t mean they won’t be happy in the Moot.  It simply means, should we really “mess” with a good thing?

I knew choosing between the Moot and the East of Pretoria would be a tough one.  I also knew there is a plan and as much as I had things under control, it would all mean very little once we found the place.

IMG_2342

At first I looked on websites like Private Property and the likes of Property 24 – nothing was right.  It was either too expensive, or way to far out past Hans Strydom or not pet friendly.  Or worse – taken.  Out of sheer desperation, impatience and frustration I started looking for suitable homes to rent on Gumtree and Junkmail.  This was when one well written advert caught my attention.  It was written in Afrikaanse, calling the house neat and tidy.  No pictures.  No frills.  And in the Moot.

I phoned the owner of the house, arranged to view the property and like any proper stalker searched the property’s street view on google maps.  Unfortunately the property wasn’t marked clearly and I had to wait until we met with the owner to know for sure which house was on offer.

We viewed the house on Thursday evening.  I knew instantly.  K was being a realist – not his normal roll, that is normally reserved for me.  But by Friday morning he told me, he couldn’t stop thinking about the house and that he agrees with me, the house is ours.

IMG_2348

Friday I made the final call to our new landlord and made a payment towards our new and improved home in the Moot.

Author: Alet Swart

I am a geek with creative flair. boymama. Passionate about people + wholeness + travel + tech. Empowered by Grace.

2 thoughts on “House Finding

  1. Pingback: Fix-Paint-Pack-Move | Sparrow at Heart

  2. Oh I grew up in the moot and f it was not for our stunning school around the corner and my work location I would move there in a heartbeat. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

