Sparrow at Heart

Why did I start blogging?

2 Comments

I really hate being one of those people who blog about blogging.  But I miss the blogging groove that I had – knowing what to write about and having the words flow.   I though about this a lot in the past week and I feel the need to work through the thoughts.  Make a couple of decisions and or hopefully rekindle my passion for writing!

Why did I start blogging?

A friend introduced me to a couple of the blogs she followed.  I read, I laughed and I cried.  And then I thought to myself – if they can do it, so can I!  I started my very first blog in November 2007.  I loved documenting my life, keeping little memories of what Logan and I did alive in my writing.  Sharing my hopes and my fears.

Screen shot 2013-04-27 at 2.36.06 PM

Why did I stop blogging?

I started caring what people though of my writing.  I started caring who reads it and how and if I would offend someone by something I say.  I started rereading my posts 3/4 times and trying to see how something could be misinterpreted.  Then I started moving my blog around – renaming it again and again.  To put it simply – I started complicating things.

Question time:

Do you think the name of a blog influences how comfortable you are in your writing space?

What are the things you love about blogging?  What do you dislike?  Do you have a blogging schedule?  How do you fit blogging into a busy work-kids-husband kind of life?

What is the most bizarre comment you have ever received?

If you have a personal blog, would you consider starting a blog for your business/ employer?

Author: Alet Swart

I am a geek with creative flair. boymama. Passionate about people + wholeness + travel + tech. Empowered by Grace.

2 thoughts on “Why did I start blogging?

  1. Whatever you do – start again/ keep blogging. I honestly do not care what anyone else apart from me and H thinks about what I write. And yes, I would do a blog for a work type thing – but totally seperate

  2. It’s so funny how many of us “bloggers” think the same thing but will never admit it. For me the name of the blog is not so important, the content is. I write just to keep our memories in one space, I love to just sit and have that time to reflect by myself and that other people may benefit from that too. I don’t like feeling like I “need” to blog every day or wondering what people think of it. So I have stopped even letting myself get that far. As much as possible I just think about whether I would want to read about this on another blog and leave it at that, oh and whether my kids may hate me for it later in life… If my work day was not already so extremely busy I would consider writing a blog for work too.

Leave a Reply

