Sparrow at Heart

Logan’s first term in big school

3 Comments

Logan finished last year on a high.  We were very proud of him!  His teacher went as far as to say if he wanted to be, he could be the top student in the class.  I knew we had made the right decision to keep him back a year and that we were truly ready for Grade 1.

This year started off very well.  Logan referred to his teacher as splendid!  Yes, he was forgetting something at school on a daily basis – his shoes / homework book-bag / shoes again etc.  And then he settled, things were much better.  We did our homework every day.  Some days are harder than other.  Logan battled ever so slightly to put two sounds together.  He got confused between M and N.  All we did was practice and it was the intention until we got it all right.

IMG_1123

I noticed a big change in him towards the end of February.  He came home not eating any of his lunch.  He started writing his letters back to front.  He wouldn’t concentrate when we do homework – reading whatever he feels like instead of what the word says.  Giving up instead of trying.  He wasn’t interested in school work.  We were fighting with him every single day – drilling homework instead of enjoying it.

I was desperate to get to the bottom of what was going on.  Logan and I have a long chat.  He told me that his “splendid” teacher has not been at school and she won’t be coming back any time soon.  He told me that the substitute teacher is horrible – she would leave him to keep in hand in the air ages and that she wasn’t nice.  (Lastly and on a lighter note – she had purple legs.)

We also went and saw a teacher.  Mrs Gottlieb is an elderly lady that has adjusted the foundation phase’s curriculum to include occupation therapy in order to help the students in their later years of school.  Kobus and I have loads of respect for her.  Mrs Gottlieb allowed us to observe a session where she teacher a group of 6 kids – Logan was included in this group.  She gave us some excellent advise and tips.  She also recommended that Logan see an educational psychologist.

When we got his first report card – I have to admit I was very disappointed.  I knew what was coming and yet when I saw it I was very disappointed.  His Splendid teacher will thankfully be back at school and Kobus and I will work very closely with her.  I have written a note to the purple-legged-teacher for her to arrange a session with the school psychologist – she didn’t do it.  So this will be another area of focus for us next term.

Will karate benefit Logan concentration wise?  I hope so and we hope to pursue this in next term as well.

Am I overreacting?  Will everything be okay for Logan in big school?  Did I expect it to be easier than it really is?  Mom, let me know what you think!

Author: Alet Swart

I am a geek with creative flair. boymama. Passionate about people + wholeness + travel + tech. Empowered by Grace.

3 thoughts on “Logan’s first term in big school

  1. Ai Alet, it’s always difficult. I would without a doubt just take him for an evaluation with an Occupational Therapist. More than psychologists, they have a hands on take with issues.

    I can also tell you that homework with any grade 1 – even my academically good girl is difficult – by grade 2 this is way way easier.

    Best of luck!

  2. Pingback: Logan Grade 1 Term 2 | Sparrow at Heart

Leave a Reply

