Sparrow at Heart

"Dit maak mos nie saak of dit 'n seuntjie of a dogtertjie is nie"

Leave a comment

These were word from my gynecologist’s lips when I was 33 weeks pregnant with what I thought was a girl.  When you are a hormonal-mad-woman with a dream of a little girl.  It is a bit of a shock.  However in the larger scheme of things it didn’t matter, I love my Oliver more than words can describe!

I wish I could say I am cured of my intense desire to have a little girl.  Some days I think I am, some days I think I am ready to close the baby making chapter of my life and settle into our family as it is.  Other days, I am willing to put my body through another 10 long months of discomfort at a 50% chance of a little girl and a last addition to the Swart family.

 It is madness, I know it is and I am the first to admit.

 The fact of the matter is, the decision may already be decided for us.  Oliver was diagnosed with Rhesus ABO blood incompatibility when he was born.  2 weeks in Neo Natal ICU and 2 blood transfusions later, he is, thanks to God’s grace, a healthy little boy.  What we need to find out is what our chances are of going through all of that again. * 

The only way we can find out, is by getting the opinion(s) of a couple of reputable gynecologists.  Really anyone other than my current gynea will do, but I have been researching this a bit and all gyneas that have been referred to me by friends/ colleagues or come highly recommended over the web, can either only see me at the end of 2015 or aren’t taking patients right now.  

It is frustrating! 

Would it make a difference if I said I am pregnant?  Would they find a way to squeeze you in if that was the case? 

They should really be ware – I will start phoning them on a weekly basis and become a stalker!  Don’t they realize that we have a very important decision to make and we are only giving ourselves a couple of months to decide? 

* Naturally hearing a story of a couple that had a baby with the same condition as Oliver, who went on and had healthy triplets without any blood incompatibility, doesn’t make it any easier to do what common sense makes you believe.

Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

Leave a Reply

