Sparrow at Heart

Back to work I go

1 Comment

Today is my fourth day back at work.   I wish I could say I am thrilled to be back, but that would be a lie.  What I will say is that it was much easier than I expected it to be.  I came prepared for a couple of very awkward, “so how have you been” moments.   Instead I was pleasantly surprised by the sincere welcomes and questions of how baba is doing.

So far it has been hard.  It was hard leaving Oli for whole days with the nanny.  I have kept myself from phoning and checking how things are, I keep morning goodbye short and sweet.  I trust my instinct and hopefully it won’t fail me.  However leaving Oli isn’t the hard part, coming home later than I want to is my biggest problem.

Luckily I am working on this and hopefully we will be a well-oiled machine really soon.  I am ready for cooking supper and doing homework as a Mom-and-Lu-team.  For Oli-cuddles and giggles and talking lots of nonsense.

It is very strange to say, but it feels like I am yarning for the typical momsy type of things.  Very domesticed, house wifey like.

How odd.

Author: Alet Swart

I am a geek with creative flair. boymama. Passionate about people + wholeness + travel + tech. Empowered by Grace.

One thought on “Back to work I go

  1. I do find myself feeling that way every now and again too….

Leave a Reply

