Sparrow at Heart

Reverb11: Day 7 – Forgiveness

2 Comments

Who have you forgiven this year and what was the journey like that brought you to forgive them?

I have touched on the matter on day 2 of Reverb11 when I said :

 “When I fell pregnant with Lu, I was in a very tight spot and in many ways I expected my parents to do what they did best by making life easier for me, unfortunately the time neither of them could.”

Ever since my parent’s divorce around the age of 13, my relationship with my dad deteriorated.  An already fragile relationship was tested when I expected things on a platter as a young, single and naive parent.

To make a horribly long story shorter, my dad was going through things he didn’t share with me.  Things that didn’t concern me but unfortunately affected me.  I miss interpreted his actions and he never corrected me.  We grew apart and we ended up having a relationship where we would speak to each other 3 times a year – my birthday, his birthday and Logan’s birthday (which we combined with Christmas and New Years).

However when Oliver was in the hospital, my dad was in town for a wedding and we met up for a coffee.  We patched things up and in essence we both committed to making an effort to go from the relationship we have at the moment to the relationship a father and daughter should have.

Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

2 thoughts on “Reverb11: Day 7 – Forgiveness

  1. That sounds wonderful.
    Forgiveness is such a liberating thing!

  2. I hope your relationship grows from strength to strength.

Leave a Reply

