Sparrow at Heart

Day 6 – What made you laugh this year?

3 Comments


My husband makes me laugh.

When we got married the minister suggested that we do something symbolic like light the candle or take both of the other’s hand to “start the journey” all as part of the ceremony.  So while we were standing in front of our closest family and friends, K decided to play me a special song as a surprise.  I knew there was a surprise, however I had no idea what it was.  The idea was to trust my husband to be, in whatever he does.
When I made this decision, I didn’t quite expect my surprise to entail holding my husband’s hands for a full 4 minutes of the song he had chosen to symbolise the rest of our lives together.
While the song was playing we had a moment to have a chat – how was your morning, how were the boys last night and random making fun of the man for not giving instructions for having the song cut at some point in time, before all our guests fell asleep.
Thankfully for everyone there (apart for my best friends) it seems like we shared some pretty awesome, romantic and four-minute-long conversation.
Gives a whole new meaning to “from this moment”
**  On a side note, this totally shows my husband’s personality – a gentle and honest heart, thoughtful beyond words, sentimental with a hint of goofiness.  And I am 100% sure this makes for a lifetime of laughs and memories  **
Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

3 thoughts on “Day 6 – What made you laugh this year?

  1. Now…IF *that* song had been I’m Alive, I think I may have pissed my very pregnant self. Bwahahahahaha

  2. The second I read a special song, I started giggling. I am alive alright ;)
    Ps, you’ll never ever ever live that one down while Tracey and I are still around!

  3. @ Joan, do you know how hard I looked for a violinist that would cost us my unborn child. Imagine if I had, I doubt Alet would have made it down the “isle”

Leave a Reply

