Sparrow at Heart

Reverb11 Day 1: Day 1 – One Word – Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word.

1 Comment

It has taken me a while to get to this word.  At first I thought my word for 2011 was “home” then I considered the word “family”.  Finally I settled on my word:

For people who know me, the phrase and more so, the song “Feels like Home” is very close to my heart.  Naturally Home would be the perfect word.  However after pondering this for a couple of days, I realized that this was in essence my word last year.  Last year I started a journey were I came back to the person I am.  I met my soul mate and to this day he brings out the best in me.  It must sound like all kinds of shades of cliche and I wish I could make it sound more truthful and less cliche.  But he knows the essence of who I am better than I do and he is leading me to be me, better than I know how.

This year more than anything else, Kobus and I took hands and form a bond.  A commitment to each our, to our kids and to God.  This year we have laid the foundations to our family.  The word family has made its appearance and although we are a fully fledge family with all the trimmings, this year has been more than that.  This year has been in many ways a very difficult, just ask my husband and throw in the hint *first trimester*!

This leads to the word “FOUNDATION” the perfect word and stepping stone for things to build on and for years to come.

Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

One thought on “Reverb11 Day 1: Day 1 – One Word – Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word.

  1. You are the first person I have met that actually knows this song! It is one of my all time favourites and I remember singing it and crying as I left working at the Kruger Park. It still brings tears to my eyes!!!

    LOVE your word!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

