Sparrow at Heart

Not quite how I had planned my day

3 Comments

This morning I woke up in what is becoming my normal zombie like state, thinking my day would entail a simple check up with the pediatrician, blood tests and taking my baby home.  Unfortunately life isn’t simple and the blood test showed that Oliver’s haemoglobin levels were dangerously low once again.

I am thankful that when the doctor told me to phone him on Monday to ask for the results I (a) already knew it takes a maximum of 2 hours for the lab to release the results.  And (b) am impatient enough to want to know sooner rather than later.

The ladies at Lancet already know Oliver by name from his previous hospital stay and when they gave us the blood results they recommended that we walk past the Doctor’s room first.  We knew blood would be given.  We had the feeling the doctor had been expecting this results, however when he saw just how low it was, he was clearly just as shaken as we were.

It has been a long day of waiting and we are still waiting for the blood to arrive.  Tomorrow will mean a little more waiting and hoping and praying that the blood does the trick!

P.S.  I’m really getting to experience a lot this hospital has to offer.  We started with the labour ward 2 weeks before Oli was born, followed by the maternity ward, neo natal ICU and now pediatrics.  Fantastic hospital and I really will recommend it to anyone.  But my honest preference I will be to stop these little visiting experiences.

P.S.S.  Oli’s body is breaking down the Bilirubine and the conjugated Billi very nicely, the levels have dropped so much and we are so thankful!

Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

3 thoughts on “Not quite how I had planned my day

  1. That is good news about your little man’s billi levels. Your little boy is gorgeous ~ congrats!!!

  2. It sounds like you’re having a horrid time. I hope it all passes soon and all the hospital visits will be a thing of the past.

  3. Gosh, you guys are really having a super tough time. Hang in there – one thing we do know – this too shall pass.

Leave a Reply

