Sparrow at Heart

His eye is on the sparrow…

1 Comment

Very early in my pregnancy I decided what colours I want to use for the baby’s nursery.  The theme took some time and developing, mainly because I wanted to use a theme suited for a girl or a boy, whichever we ended up having.  The colours are yellow, white and grey.  And depending on a boy or a girl we would incorporate highlight of either of the colour in the nursery.

Since we have been given a 90% chance of a girl, I feel developing a theme around a girl, should be fine.  And if it isn’t we will figure it out in a couple of weeks!

Ever since doing art at school, art needed to have a meaning to it.  It really has been a curse in some senses, because it means it takes me so much longer to develop at concept.  And if the symbolic meaning to whatever I am doing isn’t clearly thought out, I simply have no passion for the project and it becomes a complete flop.  Very often however, once I have  fitting concept, I can very easy build and grow onto this concept and it is then that the master piece truly begins!

Let’s take the nursery as an example:  The birdcage, although the bird in it’s essence represent a whole lot of things.  The birdcage translates from a wedding planned, a love share between two people and a passion for this growing person inside of me.

After the initial idea came to mind, I shared this with best friend.  Naturally she suggests that this theme could be translated to a boy as well as a girl.  And as true as it is, it is different.  A boy bird room is different from a girl bird room.  But it is possible and if need be, we will give the boy a bird-second-name like Robin or Finch!

On to new things, I found myself browsing the interweb in search of idea..  (truly making my husband crazy with all the things he either need to look at or comment on.  Poor man!)  This was when the above wording caught my attention.  I love the words and what it represents.  I love the fact that protecting this little one, isn’t up to me entirely and that I can never do enough to protect her.  I love that I have a Heavenly Father that has her best interest at heart, always:

His Eye Is on the Sparrow

Civilla D. Martin, 1905

  1. Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come,
  2. Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heav’n and home,
    When Jesus is my portion? My constant Friend is He:
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

    • Refrain:
      I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free,
      For His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
  3. “Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear,
    And resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears;
    Though by the path He leadeth, but one step I may see;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
  4. Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise,
    When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies,
    I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
    His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.
The words of the above song is based on the Scripture: Matthew 10:29-31.  These words are very comforting, now and thinking of all three my children’s future!
Wall vinyl Credit , Birdcage credit, song credit
Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

One thought on “His eye is on the sparrow…

  1. Ooo, so very very pretty. Love it.

Leave a Reply

