Sparrow at Heart

The start of winter and getting sick…

2 Comments

With the start of winter around the corner, getting sick has been something that I have been worrying about a bit.  I don’t get sick very often, however when I do get sick, I tend to get very sick.

Needless to say when I started with a runny nose on Thursday last week, I followed every precaution I could, by going to the pharmasist on the way home from work.  I was recommended to use Iliadin Nasal Spray.  From Logan’s baby years I can remember the stuff being truly awful and I could only count my lucky stars that I could only use it for a maximum of 5 days.  Luckily it also works very well, by the end of the weekend I started feeling more like myself!

Tuesday, however left me with some more worries as my chest started scratching.  Having no energy to deal with a full blown cold and I decided to call in sick at work.  The gynae prescribed some general flu medicines and it seemed to do the job well enough.  so much so that I found myself back at work on Wednesday.  I seemed to be doing okay, however the workload and the lack of any kind of break obviously didn’t do me any good.

By Thursday my throat was so swollen and sore to the point that K demanded I stay at home.  Unfortunately with all the things pending on my table at work, I made a compromise:  I will go to work as long as I go to the doctor during the course of the day.  This was probably the best compromise I have made in a long time, if I hadn’t, I would probably have been at work the whole day.

The doctor diagnosed me with tonsillitis, gave me some antibiotics and ordered me to bed.  The past 24 hours have been pure torture, I couldn’t eat.  I was dying of thirst but as soon as I had a sip of anything I couldn’t swallow.  So instead I slept.  And then I slept some more until eventually somewhere around this afternoon I woke up and manage to drink some juice.

I feel a whole lot better.  Not 100 percent yet, but a lot more human than I have felt in days.  I am so grateful for the weekend and the chance to rest some more!

Happy weekend :)

Author: Alet Swart

I am a geek with creative flair. boymama. Passionate about people + wholeness + travel + tech. Empowered by Grace.

2 thoughts on “The start of winter and getting sick…

  1. Hope you feel way way better soon.

  2. I got mumps while pregnant with Victoria. Last trimester! Horrid being ill when pregnant.

Leave a Reply

