Sparrow at Heart

And that is how we learn

4 Comments

I have always thought of myself as a success driven career girl without the career girl wardrobe*.

The last company I worked for was a small company with very little growth opportunities.  Month after month for over three years I complained that I felt limited, that I feel like I am missing out on a lot of things the big corporate world can offer me.  With a twist  (retrenchments) and a big compromise (driving to Joburg), I got what I wanted this year.  I was beyond myself with excitement, thinking I would conquer the corporate world – Fully knowing that this is what I have wanted for the past 3 and a half years.

It didn’t take me very long to figure out that what I thought I wanted wasn’t what I really wanted.  There isn’t ever really a day that go by where I don’t think of all the things I am missing out in my loved ones lives because I am sitting at work; sitting in traffic on my way to or from work.  Because I am working late because there is work that needs to be done.   Maybe being in a stable loving relationship has changed me a little bit, maybe I had forgotten how demanding the corporate world is. 

Either way, I am glad I now have my priorities in line.  Even if right now there is very little I can do to change my situation.  Maybe in the future I will make better decisions!  And that is how we learn.

* The wardrobe is really a bit formal for my liking, I prefer a more laid back look :)

Author: Alet Swart

I am a geek with creative flair. boymama. Passionate about people + wholeness + travel + tech. Empowered by Grace.

4 thoughts on “And that is how we learn

  1. It’s a real post! Did you notice it has been almost 2 full months since your last post?

  2. Its always good to know what you want…then you can go for it! Maybe this was what you needed to figure it out completely…there is a reason for everything, isnt there? :-)

  3. I think that this is the reason why I don’t want to go into the big corporate world right now. Small companies give me the freedom to get home early and have family time. Sorry to hear that your current job is not what you expected it to be … I hope that you’ll figure out something that works for you in 2011.

  4. I worked in corporate for almost 9 years. Its bliss working for yourself but you tend to push yourself and work longer hours, however you have the freedom to do what you want when you want.

Leave a Reply

