Sparrow at Heart

how I became a Fiancée:

10 Comments

Edit to add:  I wrote this post on Monday morning after he asked me to marry him on Saturday the 17th of July 2010.

Kobus had organised everything: My friend had fetched Logan; Kobus had left for work for a bit and I was in the bath, pampering and descrubbing.  The limited information I had, involved packing an overnight bag and preparing myself for an amazing night.  The rest was to be a surprise!

Early the afternoon we arrived at a little lodge close to Hartebeespoortdam.  We were checked into the honeymoon suite and I was overwhelmed with the sudden appearance of a picnic basket, a bottle of champagne and a big bunch of long-stem red roses.  After a hic-up or two regarding the picnic spot we were next  to the dam, Kobus and I with a lot of water as the backdrop.  My heart was skipping a beat because I knew what was coming and as many times as I had painting the picture for myself, the reality of it was more special than I could every had imagined: 

Yes, it involved Kobus on one knee asking me if I will marry him.  This was followed by a many, many sweet words, a part of me didn’t hear.  All because I wanted and needed to reply to his initial question.  We enjoyed a lovely picnic, took lots of photos of us and soaked ourselves in the moment. 

Even though nothing has changed, everything has changed.  I am still the same person, I still love the same person and I honestly though it is just a ring.  (An amazing ring but just a ring)  Yet it isn’t just a ring, it is a ring that symbolises our love.  I am becoming all mushy and need to stop now. 

My status has changed.  I am a new person.  I’m not just Alet or Alet, Logan’s mom.  I am redefined as Alet, soon to be wife of Kobus Swart.

Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

10 thoughts on “how I became a Fiancée:

  1. Oh Alet, I can not express my happiness for you two. Such a magic and amazing moment. Lettice is getting married! Yoohoo!

  2. Tears I tell you tears, the big ploppy kind on the keyboard! So Happy for you.
    I want to see the bling

  3. How wonderful for you. So so exciting.

    Beautiful post that you will never tire of reading!

    Congratulations.

  4. Congratulations!!!!! So happy for you guys!!!!!

  5. So romantic. Congrats.

  6. Yay! You’re engaged!
    Where is the photo of the ring? It’s like the most important photo

  7. That is truly romantic and wonderful.

    Pics of the ring!!!! Please :)

  8. NIGGIE!!! Ek sien nou eers! BAIE BAIE geluk, dis amazing!! WOW wow wow wow dis so cool! Ek is so bly vir jou en wens julle ‘n laaaaang en gelukkige lewe saam toe. YAYYYY!!!
    PS ek het hope cool blogs etc vir troues…. hierdie een is my favourite:
    http://greenweddingshoes.com/
    en
    http://www.stylemepretty.com/
    YAY!!

  9. PPS: nie dat ek naby trou is nie…ek is net verslaaf aan style blogs… xXX

Leave a Reply

