Sparrow at Heart

It looks good on paper:

3 Comments

Yesterday was what seems to be the end of my monthly trips to the maintenance court.  I am not sure what I was expecting, to me it was a process of going through the ropes and yesterday would have been the start of the trail.  What I have been going back and forth for the past five odd months!

At the court I was asked (not by the judge, but by the court administrator) whether I wanted to continue with the trail.  The reason for this question was, that the Sperm-Donor seemed to have learnt his lesson:

The fact that he managed to pay maintenance for the past TWO MONTHS and a bit extra looks good on paper.

I was boiling with anger.  His pattern is to stop paying, he has never paid for longer than 12 consecutive months, what gives them the right to speak on his behalf?  His legal aid representative was asked to draft a document and get us to sign this, it says something along the following lines:

I, Sperm-Donor know I have not been paying maintenance for SEVEN AND A HALF months and I plan on paying the arrear maintenance over the course of the next TWENTY months.  If I should fail at doing so, the mother can go through this whole SEVEN AND A HALF MONTH procedure again, while my kid will cut back on the basics a kid should really get to enjoy.

It is just not fair!  Like I said I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I sure as hell wasn’t expecting an “It looks good on paper” comment when I have been battling to make ends meet!

Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

3 thoughts on “It looks good on paper:

  1. That’s quite shit, but at least he is paying you again, which is good

  2. Sounds like a real pain in the @ss Alet. I also battle to get through every month, but honestly I just don’t have it in me to keep dragging our s-donor off to court all the time.

    At this point I think we’re just better off without him.

    • If I were you, I would do the same thing. You are better off without him, you have the support of your family – he is the one missing out!
      xx

Leave a Reply

