Sparrow at Heart

"What have I got to lose?"

8 Comments

 

Mr. Ping: The secret ingredient is… nothing!
Po: Huh?
Mr. Ping: You heard me. Nothing! There is no secret ingredient.
Po: Wait, wait… it’s just plain old noodle soup? You don’t add some kind of special sauce or something?
Mr. Ping: Don’t have to. To make something special you just have to believe it’s special.
[Po looks at the scroll again, and sees his reflection in it]
Po: There is no secret ingredient…

 

 I know every couple of months I decide I need to lose weight, every couple of month I also fail to lose the weight and I go back to my unhealthy and undisciplined lifestyle.  Every time I say this time is different and that this time it will actually happen.  So all I will say this time is:  What have I got to lose?

What I will say however and this has been an amazing motivating factor is that I have a boyfriend that love me “just as I am”.  Yet he fully understand that I don’t like me “just as I am”.  Not only is he willing to walk the walk, every step of the way with me, he honestly believes I can do it.  This shocked me a bit because I don’t know if I can do this.  I don’t know how to do this long-term!   

It is almost as if he is the special ingredient to my noodle soup, he believes something special!

As soon as I have been paid I will make some changes:

First of all I will join Weigh-less along with my best friend, where I will learn some healthy habits and hopefully I will have a half pint Irish granny like Shebee, whom I will be scared of.  And secondly I will join and go to gym with my one and only.

I won’t say I am excited.  I won’t say this is going to work.  I will say I will give it a go.  I will say I will make an effort.  I will say I am doing this for my own benefit. 

I will say:  “What have I got to lose?”    

(credit – Quote, Picture of Mr Ping and Picture of Po)

Author: Alet Swart

Gauteng based boy-mama and blogger. Passionate about self-development & learning. A21 Volunteer. Empowered by Grace.

8 thoughts on “"What have I got to lose?"

  1. I love Kung Fu Panda, Po is so funny
    Good luck with the diet

  2. Good luck! The trick is to not obsess over it. And maybe consider something simpler to start off with. In my experience Weigh-less is too complicated with counting points and whatnot. I like Herbalife because it’s literally an intake of a shake twice a day, snacks in between and a healthy dinner at night.

    Simple.

  3. I am a weigh-less fan cos it worked for me ONCE UPON A TIME … but I didn’t have the perseverance. Good luck, I am sure it will work out in the end.

  4. Weigh-less in fantastic, although a bit obsessive. It has worked wonders for me twice in my life, I have never failed on it. These days, I have my own way in which I stay, not thin, but ok enough. Good luck!

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog Alet. Good luck with the diet – I also don’t like myself the way I am, and went to see a dietician for help. SIGH – if I could only stick to it…..

  6. All the best to you. :)

    My best advise is to choose changes you can keep up…. it has to be something you can do for a long time to be truly effective.

    Also, diet and excercise… there is no other way unfortunately.

  7. Pingback: “We will discuss it on the treadmill” «

Leave a Reply

