Sparrow at Heart

My first ever Mother’s day…

11 Comments

I have never had a mother’s day.  It isn’t something that has really bothered me in the past.  It was my reality, I knew my little boy loved me.  He showered me with hugs and kisses and a tantrum here or there.  We had our dynamic, it worked for us.

So telling you how much it meant that my new boyfriend went to great lengths to make the day special for me will be an understatement.  The preparations began on Friday afternoon when Logan and Kobus went shopping.  Logan was devastated when he couldn’t give me the present right there and then, naturally he isn’t very use to keeping secrets!  There was the hiding of the presents, along with the hiding of the house keys.  Kobus was googling recipes and stocking up on ingredients. 

Sunday morning I woke up to Logan and Kobus whispering to each other in the kitchen.  After the whispers I was presented with breakfast in bed, which I ended up eating right were I wanted to be, with my boys in the kitchen!  Logan gave me the present which was a teddy bear in a mug that say “I love you Mom“.  I have never seen him more proud of anything in his little life!  Kobus gave me the cutest card with the most sincere message I have read in a long time, along with chocolates and a gift-voucher.

After breakfast my boyfriend started baking!  He baked a bread (potbrood as the Afrikaners would call it) and a Roly Poly desert.  All that and he still had energy to make potjiekos.  Best friend, Tracey joined us for lunch as her chef hubby had abandoned her to cook for 400 other moms!

What a lovely way to spend mother’s day!  What a lovely way to make new memories and start new traditions!  I cannot wait for next year mother’s day.  In the meanwhile, who is up for a father’s day brainstorm?

Author: Alet Swart

I am a geek with creative flair. boymama. Passionate about people + wholeness + travel + tech. Empowered by Grace.

11 thoughts on “My first ever Mother’s day…

  1. aw man isnt that so special :)

  2. I am so glad you had an awesome time

  3. ADORABLE. he sounds like a keeper.

  4. Oh that man is a keeper. I am so happy that you had your special day.

  5. What a weonderful day!!! :)

  6. awwww how special. I loved reading this post. Way to go to your two special bois!!!!

  7. Thats really nice. Congrats on snagging a man that can cook!

  8. Oh wow, that sounds like a perfect Mother’s Day!

  9. Pingback: one more sleep « lettice & lu

  10. Pingback: 2010/ Goals/ To-Do Lists/ Small Steps/ 2011 |

Leave a Reply

